Ila District won Osun maiden Inter-District Football Tourney

By Osun Isha’at

Majlis Khuddamul-Ahmadiyya, (Ahmadiyya Muslim Youth Organization), Ila District has won the first of its kind inter-District football competition organized by Osun State which cut across all the five Districts in the State between 6th and 26th December, 2020.

Ila District carried the day having defeated Majlis Ansarullah Team in the final by a lone goal.

The football tourney was organized to mark the completion of Imarat (tenure in office) of the outgoing Ilaqa Qaid, Bro. Nurudeen Abdullateef Owadosu among the five Districts: Osogbo, Ede, Ife, Iwo and Ila.

The objective of the competition was to present the beauty of Islam and message of the Promised Messiah (as) to non-members, to foster the spirit of brotherhood among members and auxiliary bodies and to call back members who have distanced themselves from Jama’at and Majlis Khuddam activities.

The auxiliary of Majlis Ansarullah in the State requested to join the tournament and their request was unanimously granted.

Meanwhile, the first match began on 6th December featuring Ede and Iwo Dil’at held at Fadl-i-Omar Ahmadiyya College, Ede and ended with a lone goal in favour of Iwo District.

Likewise, on the same day, Majlis Ansarullah beat Ife Dil’a in a penalty shoot-out 3-1, while Osogbo District lost to Ila Dil’a.

Ila, Iwo and Majlis Ansarullah forged ahead to the next stage while Ife Dil’a emerged as the best loser.


Saturday, the 26th December was a long-awaited day for the teams who made it to the finals – the 3rd place and the final match respectively.

The teams, Iwo and Ife Dil’at, had their 3rd place clash out which favoured Iwo Dil’a with two goals to none before the final match started.

Significantly, Fakunle Comprehensive High School, Osogbo was the venue of the final match between Ila Dil’a and Majlis Ansarullah.

The event was witnessed by Osun State Sport Council members, auxiliary members of the Jama’at and to everyone’s surprise, some football teams who came for their regular training section at the same venue had no choice but to watch this final match.

After several minutes of the goalless match, Ila Dil’a had their chance and net the goal post of the ‘babas’ (Majlis Ansarullah) whose number one goalkeeper was not in their midst and the match ended alone goal in favour of Ila Dil’a.

Some dignitaries in the Jama’at who graced the occasion were: Nazim Ansarullah Ede Dil’a, Pa​ Shakirullah Lawal; Nazim Ansarullah Osogbo Dil’a, Pa Salahudeen Hussein; Osogbo Circuit Missionary, Muallim Tirmidhi Adeniran; Immediate past State Qaid, Pa Nurudeen Abd Lateef; State Qaid, Mr Tella Qamardeen; Muhtamin Khidmat-e- Khalq, Bro Abideen Hammed and Muhtamin Sanat-o-Tijarat, Bro Ogunsola Abd. Hakeem.

Despite losing the final game, the members of Majlis Ansarullah were cheerful and expressed joyous gestures among themselves and as well proud to make it to the final stage.

Medals were presented to Bro Raji Abd Ganiyy (Best keeper), Bro Saheed Abd. Raheem (Best Scorer), Bro Akinloye (Most Valuable Player), Bro Ibiyemi Abd Qadr/Abd.Azeez Yusuf (Highest Goal Scorer), 3rd Place (Iwo Dil’a), Second Place (Majlis Ansarullah), First Place (Ila Dil’a).

Latest news

Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here